The Congress of the


Anti-authoritarian International

Saint-Imier
(15-16 September 1872)

 


 

Note

After the expulsion of the anarchists at the Congress of the International Workingmen's Association (The Hague, 2-7 September 1872), Mikhail Bakunin, James Guillaume and the members of various anarchist federations and sections met in the village of Saint-Imier (Swiss Jura) and adopted certain resolutions at what will be known as the Congress of the Anti-authoritarian International.

 


 

FIRST RESOLUTION

Position of the Federations meeting in Congress at Saint-Imier, with reference to the resolutions of the Hague Congress and of the General Council

Considering that the autonomy and independence of the workers’ federation and sections are the first condition for the emancipation of the workers.

That all legislative and normative power given to the Congress would be a flagrant negation of this autonomy and freedom:

The Congress denies, in principle, the legislative power of all Congresses, be they general or regional, and does not recognize any mission other than that of presenting the aspirations, needs and ideas of the proletariat of the different localities or countries, in order that their harmonization and unification be realized as much as possible. However, in no case should a majority in any Congress be allowed to force its resolutions upon the minority.

Besides that, considering that the institution of a General Council in the International Workingmen’s Association is, by its own nature and inevitably, likely to become a permanent violation of this freedom that should be the fundamental basis of our great Association;

Considering that the acts of the London General Council, now being dissolved, during the last three years, are the visible proof of the faults intrinsic to this institution;

That, in order to increase its power, initially very limited, it has resorted to the most despicable intrigues, lies, calumnies, trying to sully the reputation of all who dared to oppose it;

That, in order to reach the final fulfillment of its views, it has long since prepared the Hague Congress, in which the majority, organized on purpose, had no other aim than that of installing, within the International Association, the sway of an authoritarian party; and that, in order to accomplish that goal, it did not hesitate to trample on every bit of decency and justice.

That such a Congress cannot be the expression of the proletariat of the countries which were there represented; The Congress of delegates of the Spanish, Italian, Jura, American and French Federations, gathering in Saint-Imier, declares that it completely rejects the resolutions of the Hague Congress, and does not recognize, in any way, the power of the new General Council elected by the Congress. With a view to protecting their Federations against the governmental pretensions of this General Council, besides saving and further strengthening the unity of the International Association, the delegates have established the bases of a project for a solidarity pact amongst these Federations.

 


 

SECOND RESOLUTION

Pact of friendship, solidarity and mutual defence amongst the free Federations

Considering that the great unity of the International Association is not based on the artificial and always malicious organization of any centralizing power, but, on the one hand, on the real community of interests and aspirations of the proletariat of every country and, on the other, on the spontaneous and absolutely free alliance of the federations and free sections of all countries;

Considering that, within the International Associations, there is a tendency, openly manifested at the Hague Congress by the authoritarian party that is German Communism, to substitute its control and the power of its leaders for the free development and the spontaneous and free organization of the proletariat;

Considering that the majority of the delegates to the Hague Congress have cynically given up all the principles of the International Association just to follow the ambitious aims of this party and its leaders; and that the new General Council elected by that Congress and endowed with even larger powers than those it had received by the London Conference, threatens to destroy the unity of the International Association by its attacks on freedom;

The delegates of the Spanish, Italian, Jura, French and American Federations and Sections, meeting at this Congress have decided, in the name of these Federations and Sections, and subject to their definitive acceptance and confirmation, to make a pact of friendship, solidarity and mutual defence as follow:

The Spanish, Italian, French, Jura and American Federations and Sections, and all those who would like to become members of this alliance, will have amongst them regular and direct communication and correspondence, totally independent of any governmental control whatsoever;

When one of these Federations or Sections comes under attack in matters of liberty, either by a majority of a General Congress, or by the government or General Council elected by that majority, all the other Federations and Sections will declare themselves fully in agreement with that Federation.

The Federations and sections proclaim loudly that the making of this pact has for its principal aim the health of this great unity of the International Association that has been endangered by the ambition of the authoritarian party.

 


 

THIRD RESOLUTION

Nature of the Political Action of the Proletariat

Considering:

That seeking to foist a line of conduct or uniform political programme upon the proletariat as the only avenue that can lead to its social emancipation is an absurd and reactionary form of presumptuousness.

That nobody has the right to deprive autonomous federations and sections of their incontrovertible right to decide for themselves and to follow the line of political conduct they deem best, and that any such attempt would inevitably lead to the most revolting dogmatism;

That the aspirations of the proletariat can have no purpose other than the establishment of an absolutely free economic organization and federation, founded upon the labour and equality of all and absolutely independent of all political government, and that this organization and this federation can only be the outcome of the spontaneous action of the proletariat itself, of the trades and crafts bodies and the autonomous communes;

Considering that no political organization can be other than the organization of domination to the profit of one class and to the detriment of the masses, and that the proletariat, if it wishes to take power, would itself become a ruling, exploiter class;

The Congress assembled in Saint-Imier declares:

1. That the destruction of all political power is the first duty of the proletariat.

2. That any organization whatsoever of a self-styled provisional and revolutionary political authority for the purpose of ensuring such destruction can be nothing but another fraud, and would be as dangerous to the proletariat as any government now in existence;

3. That, shunning all compromise in the attainment of the Social Revolution, the proletarians of every land should establish the solidarity of revolutionary action outside of all bourgeois politicking.

 


 

FOURTH RESOLUTION

Organization of Labour Resistance - Statistics

Freedom and labour are the basis of the morality, strength, life and wealth of the future. But, unless freely organized, labour becomes oppressive and unproductive as far as the worker is concerned; and this is the reason why the organization of labour is the essential precondition for the authentic, complete emancipation of the worker.

However, labour cannot proceed freely without access to raw materials and the entire capital of society, and cannot be organized unless the worker, free of political and economic tyranny, gains the right to the complete development of all his faculties. No State, which is to say, no top-down government or administration of the masses, being of necessity founded upon bureaucracy, upon armies, upon espionage, upon the clergy, can ever bring about a society organized on the basis of labour and justice, since, by the very nature of its organization, it is inevitably impelled to oppress the former and deny the latter.

As we see it, the worker will never be able to free himself from the age-old oppression, unless he replaces that insatiable, demoralizing body, with a free federation of all groups of producers on the basis of solidarity and equality.

In fact, in several places, an attempt has already been made to organize labour in such a way as to better the conditions of the proletariat, but the slightest improvement has soon been gobbled up by the privileged class which is forever trying, without restraint or limits, to exploit the working class. However, such are the advantages offered by this organization that, even as things stand at present, people would not know how to do without it. Increasingly it integrates the proletariat into a community of interests, trains it in collective living and prepares it for the supreme struggle. Furthermore, since the free and spontaneous organization of labour is what should replace the privilege and authority of the State, it will, once in place, offer a permanent guarantee of the maintenance of the economic organism over and above the political body.

Consequently, by leaving the details of positive organization to be worked out by the Social Revolution, we intend to organize and marshal resistance on a broad scale. We regard the strike as a precious weapon in the struggle, but we have no illusions about its economic results. We accept it as a product of the antagonism between labour and capital, the necessary consequence of which is to make workers more and more alive to the gulf that exists between the bourgeoisie and the proletariat, to bolster the workers' organization, and, by dint of ordinary economic struggles, to prepare the proletariat for the great and final revolutionary contest which, destroying all privilege and all class differences, will bestow upon the worker the right to the enjoyment of the full product of his labour and thereby the means of developing within the community his full intellectual, material and moral powers.

The Commission suggests that the Congress should appoint a committee charged to present to the next Congress a project of universal organization for resistance, and detailed statistical tables about work which will throw some light on this struggle. The Commission recommends the Spanish organization as the best up to now.

 


 

FINAL RESOLUTION

The Congress proposes sending a copy of all Congressional resolutions, and of the 'Pact of friendship, solidarity, and mutual defence', to all the workers federations all over the world, and to act in concert with them concerning matters of general interest to all the free Federations.

The Congress invites all the federations who have come together to form this pact of friendship, solidarity and mutual defence, to consult immediately, together with all the federations or sections who would like to accept this pact, in order to define the nature and date of their international Congress, hoping that they will convene it no later than six months from now.

 


 

The participants to the Saint-Imier Congress (15 delegates)

 

6 delegates of Italian sections

Michail Bakunin (1814-1876)

Carlo Cafiero (1846-1892)

Andrea Costa (1851-1910)

Errico Malatesta (1853-1932)

Giuseppe Fanelli (1827-1877)

Ludovico Nabruzzi (1846-1920)

 

4 delegates of Spanish sections

Charles (Carlos) Alerini (1842-1877)

Rafael Farga-Pellicer (1844 ??-1890)

Nicolas Alonso Marselau

Tomàs Gonzáles Morago (??-1885)

 

2 delegates of French sections

Camille Camet (1850-??)

Jean-Louis Pindy (1840-1917)

 

2 delegates of the Fédération Jurassienne

James Guillaume (1844-1916)

Adhémar Schwitzguébel (1844-1895)

 

1 delegate of two American sections

Gustave Lefrançais (1826-1901)

 


[Home] [Top]

Le Congrès de


l’Internationale Anti-autoritaire

Saint-Imier
(15-16 Septembre 1872)

 



Note

Après l'expulsion des anarchistes au Congrès de l'Internationale à La Haye (2-7 Septembre 1872), Michail Bakunin, James Guillame et les anarchistes d'autres fédérations et sections se retrouvent dans le village de Saint-Imier (Jura Suisse) et prennent des résolutions dans ce que sera connu comme le Congrès de l'International Anti-autoritaire.

 


 

PREMIÈRE RÉSOLUTION

Attitude des Fédérations réunies en Congrès à Saint-Imier, en présence des résolutions du Congrès de la Haye et du Conseil général

Considérant que l'autonomie et l'indépendance des fédérations et sections ouvrières sont la première condition de l'émancipation des travailleurs;

Que tout pouvoir législatif et réglementaire accordé aux Congrès serait une négation flagrante de cette autonomie et de cette liberté:

Le Congrès dénie en principe le droit législatif de tous les Congrès soit généraux ou régionaux, ne leur reconnaissant d'autre mission que celle de mettre en présence les aspirations, besoins et idées du prolétariat des différentes localités ou pays, afin que leur harmonisation et leur unification s'y opèrent autant que possible; mais dans aucun cas la majorité d'un Congrès quelconque ne pourra imposer ses résolutions à la minorité.

Considérant, d'autre part, que l'institution d'un Conseil général dans l'internationale est, par sa nature même et fatalement, poussée à devenir une violation permanente de cette liberté qui doit être la base fondamentale de notre grande Association;

Considérant que les actes du Conseil général de Londres qui vient d'être dissous, pendant ces trois dernières années, sont la preuve vivante du vice inhérent à cette institution;

Que, pour augmenter sa puissance d'abord très minime, il a eu recours aux intrigues, aux mensonges, aux calomnies les plus infâmes pour tenter de salir tous ceux qui ont osé le combattre;

Que, pour arriver à l'accomplissement final de ses vues, il a préparé de longue main le Congrès de la Haye, dont la majorité, artificiellement organisée, n'a évidemment eu d'autre but que de faire triompher dans l'Internationale la domination d'un parti autoritaire, et que, pour atteindre ce but, elle n'a pas craint de fouler aux pieds toute décence et toute justice;

Qu'un tel Congrès ne peut pas être l'expression du prolétariat des pays qui s'y sont fait représenter;

Le Congrès des délégués des Fédérations espagnole, italienne, jurassienne, américaine et française, réuni à Saint-Imier, déclare repousser absolument toutes les résolutions du Congrès de la Haye, ne reconnaissant en aucune façon les pouvoirs du nouveau Conseil général nommé par lui ; et, pour sauvegarder leurs Fédérations respectives contre les prétentions gouvernementales de ce Conseil général, aussi bien que pour sauver et fortifier davantage l'unité de l'Internationale, les délégués ont jetés les bases d'un projet de pacte de solidarité entre ces Fédérations.

 


 

DEUXIÈME RÉSOLUTION

Pacte d'amitié, de solidarité et de défense mutuelle entre les Fédérations libres

Considérant que la grande unité de l'Internationale est fondée non sur l'organisation artificielle et toujours malfaisante d'un pouvoir centralisateur quelconque, mais sur l'identité réelle des intérêts et des aspirations du prolétariat de tous les pays, d'un côté, et de l'autre sur la fédération spontanée et absolument libre des fédérations et des sections libres de tous les pays;

Considérant qu'au sein de l'Internationale il y a une tendance, ouvertement manifestée au Congrès de la Haye par le parti autoritaire qui est celui du communisme allemand, à substituer sa domination et le pouvoir de ses chefs au libre développement et à cette organisation spontanée et libre du prolétariat;

Considérant que la majorité du Congrès de la Haye a cyniquement sacrifié, aux vues ambitieuses de ce parti et des ses chefs, tous les principes de l'Internationale, et que le nouveau Conseil général nommé par elle, et investi de pouvoirs encore plus grands que ceux qu'il avait voulu s'arroger au moyen de la Conférence de Londres, menace de détruire cette unité de l'Internationale par ses attentats contre sa liberté;

Les délégués des Fédérations et Sections espagnoles, italiennes, jurassiennes, françaises et américaines réunis à ce congrès ont conclu, au nom de ces Fédérations et Sections, et sauf leur acceptation et confirmation définitives, le pacte d'amitié, de solidarité et de défense mutuelle suivant:

1° Les Fédérations et Sections espagnoles, italiennes, françaises, jurassiennes, américaines, et toutes celles qui voudront adhérer à ce pacte, auront entre elles des communications et une correspondance régulière et directe tout à fait indépendantes d'un contrôle gouvernemental quelconque;

2° Lorsqu'une de ces Fédérations ou Sections se trouvera attaquée dans sa liberté, soit par la majorité d'un Congrès général, soit par le gouvernement ou Conseil général créé par cette majorité, toutes les autres Fédérations et Sections se proclameront absolument solidaires avec elle.

Ils proclament hautement que la conclusion de ce pacte a pour but principal le salut de cette grande unité de l'Internationale, que l'ambition du parti autoritaire a mise en danger.

 


 

TROISIÈME RÉSOLUTION

Nature de l'action politique du prolétariat

Considérant:

Que vouloir imposer au prolétariat une ligne de conduite ou un programme politique uniforme, comme la voie unique qui puisse le conduire à son émancipation sociale, est une prétention aussi absurde que réactionnaire ;

Que nul n'a le droit de priver les fédérations et sections autonomes du droit incontestable de déterminer elles-mêmes et suivre la ligne de conduite politique qu'elles croiront la meilleure, et que toute tentative semblable nous conduirait fatalement au plus révoltant dogmatisme;

Que les aspirations du prolétariat ne peuvent avoir d'autre objet que l'établissement d'une organisation et d'une fédération économiques absolument libres, fondées sur le travail et l'égalité de tous et absolument indépendantes de tout gouvernement politique, et que cette organisation et cette fédération ne peuvent être que le résultat de l'action spontanée du prolétariat lui-même, des corps de métier et des communes autonomes;

Considérant que toute organisation politique ne peut rien être que l'organisation de la domination au profit d'une classe et au détriment des masses, et que le prolétariat s'il voulait s'emparer du pouvoir, deviendrait lui-même une classe dominante et exploitante;

Le Congrès réuni à Saint-Imier déclare:

1° Que la destruction de tout pouvoir politique est le premier devoir du prolétariat;

2° Que toute organisation d'un pouvoir politique soi-disant provisoire et révolutionnaire pour amener cette destruction ne peut être qu'une tromperie de plus et serait aussi dangereuse pour le prolétariat que tous les gouvernements existant aujourd'hui;

3° Que, repoussant tout compromis pour arriver à l'accomplissement de la Révolution sociale, les prolétaires de tous les pays doivent établir, en dehors de toute politique bourgeoise, la solidarité de l'action révolutionnaire.

 


 

QUATRIÈME RÉSOLUTION

Organisation de la résistance du travail - Statistique

La liberté et le travail sont la base de la morale, de la force, de la vie et de la richesse de l'avenir. Mais le travail, s'il n'est pas librement organisé, devient oppressif et improductif pour le travailleur ; et c'est pour cela que l'organisation du travail est la condition indispensable de la véritable et complète émancipation de l'ouvrier.

Cependant le travail ne peut s'exercer librement sans la possession des matières premières et de tout le capital social, et ne peut s'organiser si l'ouvrier, s'émancipant de la tyrannie politique et économique, ne conquiert le droit de se développer complètement dans toutes ses facultés. Tout Etat, c'est-à-dire tout gouvernement et toute administration des masses populaires, de haut en bas, étant nécessairement fondé sur la bureaucratie, sur les armées, sur l'espionnage, sur le clergé, ne pourra jamais établir la société organisée sur le travail et sur la justice, puisque par la nature même de son organisme il est poussé fatalement à opprimer celui-là et à nier celle-ci.

Suivant nous, l'ouvrier ne pourra jamais s'émanciper de l'oppression séculaire, si à ce corps absorbant et démoralisateur il ne substitue la libre fédération de tous les groupes producteurs fondée sur la solidarité et sur l'égalité.

En effet, en plusieurs endroits déjà on a tenté d'organiser le travail pour améliorer la condition du prolétariat, mais la moindre amélioration a bientôt été absorbée par la classe privilégiée qui tente continuellement, sans frein et sans limite, d'exploiter la classe ouvrière. Cependant l'avantage de cette organisation est tel que, même dans l'état actuel des choses on ne saurait y renoncer. Elle fait fraterniser toujours davantage le prolétariat dans la communauté des intérêts, elle l'exerce à la vie collective, elle le prépare pour la lutte suprême. Bien plus, l'organisation libre et spontanée du travail étant celle qui doit se substituer à l'organisme privilégié et autoritaire de l'Etat politique, sera, une fois établie, la garantie permanente du maintien de l'organisme économique contre l'organisme politique.

Par conséquent, laissant à la pratique de la Révolution sociale les détails de l'organisation positive, nous entendons organiser et solidariser la résistance sur une large échelle. La grève est pour nous un moyen précieux de lutte, mais nous ne nous faisons aucune illusion sur ses résultats économiques. Nous l'acceptons comme un produit de l'antagonisme entre le travail et le capital, ayant nécessairement pour conséquence de rendre les ouvriers de plus en plus conscients de l'abîme qui existe entre la bourgeoisie et le prolétariat, de fortifier l'organisation des travailleurs, et de préparer, par le fait des simples luttes économiques, le prolétariat à la grande lutte révolutionnaire et définitive qui, détruisant tout privilège et toute distinction de classe, donnera à l'ouvrier le droit de jouir du produit intégral de son travail, et par là les moyens de développer dans la collectivité toute sa force intellectuelle, matérielle et morale.

La Commission propose au Congrès de nommer une commission qui devra présenter au prochain Congrès un projet d'organisation universelle de la résistance, et des tableaux complets de la statistique du travail dans lesquels cette lutte puisera de la lumière. Elle recommande l'organisation espagnole comme la meilleure jusqu'à ce jour.

 


 

RÉSOLUTION FINALE

Le Congrès propose d'envoyer copie de toutes les résolutions du Congrès, et du Pacte d'amitié, de solidarité et de défense mutuelle, à toutes les fédérations ouvrières du monde, et de s'entendre avec elles sur les questions qui sont d'intérêt général pour toutes les fédérations libres.

Le Congrès invite toutes les fédérations qui ont conclu entre elles ce pacte d'amitié, de solidarité et de défense mutuelle, à se concerter immédiatement avec toutes les fédérations ou sections qui voudront accepter ce pacte, pour déterminer la nature et l'époque de leur Congrès international, en exprimant le désir qu'il ne se réunisse pas plus tard que dans six mois.

 


 

Les participants au Congrès de Saint-Imier (15 délégués)

 

6 délégués des sections italiennes

Michail Bakunin (1814-1876)

Carlo Cafiero (1846-1892)

Andrea Costa (1851-1910)

Errico Malatesta (1853-1932)

Giuseppe Fanelli (1827-1877)

Ludovico Nabruzzi (1846-1920)

 

4 délégués des sections espagnoles

Charles (Carlos) Alerini (1842-1877)

Rafael Farga-Pellicer (1844 ??-1890)

Nicolas Alonso Marselau

Tomàs Gonzáles Morago (??-1885)

 

2 délégués des sections françaises

Camille Camet (1850-??)

Jean-Louis Pindy (1840-1917)

 

2 délégués de la fédération jurassienne

James Guillaume (1844-1916)

Adhémar Schwitzguébel (1844-1895)

 

1 délégué de deux sections américaines

Gustave Lefrançais (1826-1901)

 


[Home] [Top]